Winnipeg Jets centre Alexander Burmistrov got placed on waivers Sunday. He has been struggling with the Jets as of late. Burmistrov has played 23 games this season registering only 2 assists and has been a healthy scratch for 10 consecutive games. The Arizona Coyotes have claimed him off waivers as the Jets confirmed today.

"It got to the point…Alex has a real strong view of what he’s good at," said Jets coach Paul Maurice following the team's practice in Tampa ahead of their game Tuesday night against the Lightning. "I think that’s the most important thing: that a coach and player agree on what they’re good at. And then the coach will put them in the position then to succeed. Alex and I really would never agree on that and I had guys ahead of him. I knew Alex was interested in getting an opportunity to get those minutes, and playing somewhere else, he’d be fine and open to that. I’m happy for him, I really am."

The Coyotes are 29th place in the NHL with a weak 11-21-5 record so perhaps bringing in a new player will do good for both the team and Alex Burmistrov himself.

